Coming soon to a blog near you…

21Jan08

The Infosphere?OK, this blog comes from three driving forces:

  1. this is a class requirement for the Spring 2008 Semester
  2. I plan on doing some blog-connecting experiments over the next few months; and
  3. I need a repository for some information I’m pulling together – and in the spirit of sharing why not share this with anyone who wanders this way!

Right now I plan on leaving some notes on required readings here, and I’ll provide links whenever possible to the original documents, articles, or books in discussion. Also, the usual “bare/bear with me as I figure out this blogging process” applies.

This isn’t my first official entry, but I figured I might as well throw out something I’ve been thinking about for a little while. There’s a lot of hype surrounding this medium, the so-called “blogosphere.” Related to this is a larger (and equally amorphous) idea about something called the “infosphere.” Sure I get the obvious distinctions and potential connections, and I have my own hierarchical notions that I’ll share later on. My question to the world here is: what do you think about this idea called the “infosphere?”

Leave some comments, thoughts, and I should be checking these on a regular basis to create some kind of running conversation on this and other topics.

Thanks!

3 Responses to “Coming soon to a blog near you…”

  1. “Infosphere” sounds like 21st century philosophy to me; it remains to be seen what the final definition (if any) will be as the philosophers of modern day rhetoric, truth and illusion skeptics and believers of old paths hash out its meaning and relevance.

  2. 2 rdlevy

    I’d have to agree with you so far. Add “sphere” to a word, and you’ve got the new “cyber” prefix from a decade ago.

    Two parts of this I’m interested in exploring more are:

    1. The geometrical descriptor creates certain boundaries. What are those – and does it have to be mathematical in nature? I like this idea and will probably return to this again.

    2. If we add the geometric component with the “info” prefix what do we end up with or where? Sure this is kind of a circular argument or question, but breaking the linguistic and rhetorical parts (as you allued to in your comment) must mean something individually and as a whole. OK, it’s a sexy way to describe a topic; but beyond the flash appeal is there anything else? Well, at least that’s where I’m heading at some point.

    Thanks for the comment – keep ’em coming; and check back often – I should be posting more frequently here in the next day or two.

    Thanks.

  3. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

